One Fine Day by Molly Panter-Downes

Image result for one fine day mollie panter downes

I finally finished One Fine Day. It really shouldn’t have taken me this long but life (and other books) got in the way. It seemed to drag on a bit and only half way through did I realize that the book was just that, “one day” I  get impatient with books that take place in just one day. (I really dislike the movie Casablanca for this reason, heh. ) But it was well written and a thoughtful book. It takes place in strange times, right after WWII, when all the families are adjusting to peace and the middle class struggles with their lowered standard of living. The introduction in my Virago modern classics edition was good, I enjoyed it more than the book itself.

 

What I’m reading now:

Birth Order Book 

Nurture Shock 

The Calls of Fatima 

 

What are you reading? What have you finished recently? Recommendations?

 

 

6 comments

  1. I just finished Unchristian. It rattled me a bit, left me with a few thoughts to unravel which is why I haven’t reviewed it yet. Maybe soon.

    I am currently reading a book titled, Modern Romance. I stumbled upon it in the library but it’s basically a comic and a sociologist trying to unravel the mess that is the modern SMP/MMP and comparing it to previous eras. When you have kids of a certain age, this stuff matters. Unfortunately, even if you’re Christian.

    On deck is C.S. Lewis’ Surprised by Joy. It seems like exactly the kind of book I’ll be thirsty for when I finish the one I am reading currently.

    I recently read Life’s Work, a disturbing abortion apologist tome written by a doctor who claimed to be offering “a moral argument for choice”.

    The list of books I want to read this year alone will take three years and I think it’s time for a good fiction book to get me in the summertime mood.

  2. The intro in Virago modern classics edition enjoyed more than the book
    Thanks I haven’t bought it yet & will make sure get Virago.

    Re-reading (off-and-on): The Apocalypse (Corsini, bible study), Well Testing (Lee, work), The Origins of Wealth (Beinhocker), Norwegian Cheechako (Eide, with kids).

    E: you got guts to read Modern Romance. I don’t love my kids that much… 🙂

  3. @ MK:

    A mother’s love, LOL…

    I’m actually not as clueless about the jungle-like nature out there right now as most other parents with kids the age of mine. Mostly because 1) We’re nearly a decade younger than most the parents of kids ours associate with, and 2) I’ve read a lot about the topic on the web, as have you.

    But a lot of parents of young adults would do well to get a sense of what it’s like for young people now. A lot of them are wondering why Johnny or Sally can’t seem to find someone and settle down but they’re looking through the lens of their experience of the late 80’s/early 90’s when things were a lot different than they are now.

    You might find some of the analysis of how many people in the 30’s and 40’s married someone they’d known their whole lives pretty interesting. I posted some of that data here:

    https://terrysbookobsession.wordpress.com/2017/06/20/modern-romance-introduction-chapter-2/

    1. E, late ’80s really sick where I’m from (low SES near 100% implosion). I need no such convincing. But I expect no 1940s rebound outside of a clan-like counterculture (even then expect half to perish via collateral damage; ideas have consequences).

      1. I met and married in the mid-90’s so…

        I was using late 80’s to early 90’s as an approximation of the last time when things may not have completely sucked in the mate hunting department.

  4. i’ve been reading through Chautona Havig’s books and thoroughly enjoying most of them. she has them all listed on Kindle Unlimited on amazon, or i wouldn’t be able to afford to read as many. (https://chautona.com/suggested-reading-order/)

    just a few of the authors i enjoy:

    Dayo Benson – her books can get a bit bogged down, but it’s interesting how she gets into the minds of her characters … and i like how she deals with darkness and Light, good and evil, choices and consequences.

    Valerie Comer – i like learning about farming and urban farming and how people work together to make that work. i think i would have especially loved living in such a community when i was younger.

    D.I. Telbat – this author is extremely passionate about the Persecuted Church, and i love how he devotes his talents to highlighting that. he is an excellent author with an incredible passion.

    Mick Bose – he only has a few books out, but i thoroughly enjoyed them. if you like black-ops, global conspiracy, that kind of thing, you’ll enjoy these books.

    Lee Carver – i’ve enjoyed Lee Carver’s books. her husband retired from a successful career in international business, and then they went into the mission field in south america using his pilot skills. she writes from those pov’s and writes well. i’ve really enjoyed her books.

Leave a Reply

