Arranged Marriages

Alpha Game writes: In defense of of Arranged Marriages

Having three daughters, the subject hits home. On one hand I agree -women should marry  young, on the other hand I am glad I didn’t marry my high school sweetheart. I was encouraged by my father to break up and go to college and so I did. I never wanted to go to college, I wanted to get married, but I cannot deny that the education I received was life changing, I was bettered by it and I found a better man. I suppose the difference was was I never sought a party life or me time. I was looking to settle down.

I do know that I will:

  1. Raise my daughters within our Catholic faith. Imparting it’s ancient traditions
  2. Give them an excellent liberal arts home education
  3. Teach them to strive for excellence in all that they do
  4. Teach them how to manage a home
  5. Show them that there is no shame in housework
  6. Insist on chaperoned dates
  7.  Teach them marriage isn’t about equality, it’s hierarchical  it needs a head and headship belongs to the man (This is part of our Faith!)
  8. Encourage them to marry young
  9. Impart the wisdom that children our gifts and fertility fleeting
  10. Teach them that children need their mother as the primary caregiver. Daycare can never replace a mother’s love!

If I am able to do all of this to pass down these truths,  I believe they will be able to direct their lives accordingly. Whether a highschool sweetheart or college is part of that time will tell.

7 comments

  1. Alpha game is a moron who wouldn’t know faith if it bit him on the behind. The only reason to read him is to understand what dangers lurk out there that daughters might face. I can think of nothing more grievous then to have been married to one of those men. Very sad.

  2. This is not an easy area to discuss with youth. I’ve been covering it in my classes, and expressing what it is like in the marriage market now is difficult. I am glad to see you are taking the steps you are. It needs to start with parents.

      1. I had a very good confirmation teacher. He was fired after my class was confirmed because parents complained that his classes were too hard. The rest of my religious ed was a joke. Including marriage prep.

Leave a Reply

